Oatmeal with Chia Seeds and Goji Berries

“I’m on a diet.”

We have all heard it before, but honestly, never for long . Then the statement silently disappears to, all of a sudden, magically appear again. Sounds a lot like stories about the yeti or the Loch Ness Monster, if you ask me. Strange thing, this diet-creature. I must admit, I have never been great at dieting myself. Okay,euphemism … I HATE IT ! But what I do like is healthy, yet tasty food. So women all over the world, why don’t we all give that a try for a change? It helps us to lose those pounds without starving ourselves to death. Sounds nice, doesn’t it?

To start my day in a healthy way, I prefer hot oatmeal. It gives a sense of luxury and lifts your breakfast to the next level. Here is how I prepare it:

Put a pot with 250 ml of almond or rice milk on the stove. When it starts to boil, add 40 grams of oats. Stir constantly until it becomes a thick mass. I like to add one teaspoon of maple syrup, but that is optional. I garnish with some dried coconut flakes, chia seeds and goji berries.

oatmeal chia goji

Why add chia seeds? I have 7 good reasons:

  1. To combat diabetes
  2. Stock up on Omega 3
  3. For stronger teeth and bones
  4. It contains manganese, phosphorus, fiber and protein
  5. To fight belly fat
  6. Get full faster
  7. To improve heart heath

I also have my reasons for adding goji berries:

  1. They are anti-inflammatory (Beta-sitosterol, an anti-inflammatory agent in goji berries, can help lower cholesterol, protect against heart disease, and promote sexual health)
  2. They are naturally vitamin rich
  3. They protect your eyes (Goji berries are one of the richest edible plant sources known for Zeaxanthin, a compound related to vitamin A that has been shown to protect the retina of the eye)
  4. They promote muscle growth (thanks to the amino acids)
  5. They enhance immunity

For other incredible oatmeal recipes, check out The Oatmeal Artist.

2 gedachtes over “Oatmeal with Chia Seeds and Goji Berries

Geef een reactie

